Friday, September 26, 2014

RA 10609: Protection of Students’ Right to Enroll in Review Centers Act of 2013

President Benigno S. Aquino III signs Republic Act No. 10609, a new law which will prohibit higher educational institutions (HEIs) on forcing students to enroll on reviews centers before taking their respective licensure examinations. Under R.A. 10609, otherwise known as the “Protection of Students’ Right to Enroll in Review Centers Act of 2013”, higher educational institutions will be disallowed to compel their students to enroll on review centers chosen by the school.

REPUBLIC ACT NO. 10609 FURTHER RESTRICTS THE FOLLOWING:
HEIs should not make review sessions or classes a prerequisite or completion for graduation which will force students to pay for a certain amount of fee.
Note: Review classes are not part of the curriculum likewise the school’s choice of review center. Students may now freely choose their preferred review centers upon the implementation of this Act.

HEIs are also prohibited to withhold essential documents of the students like diploma, transcript of records, certifications, and other important school documents.
On a statement released by President Aquino on Tuesday, he said that:
the government must protect students against abuses of higher educational institutions over their right to choose review centers

Who are covered by this Act?

Republic Act No. 10609 covers all public and private higher educational institutions. This includes local colleges and universities which offer courses or college degrees that require professional licensure examinations.

What will be the punishment for violating Republic Act No. 10609?

Under this law, any official or employee of higher educational institutions such as the deans, professors, coordinators and other concerned school entities proven guilty of violating any of the provisions of this Act shall be sentenced with penalty of imprisonment from no lower than six months and one day to six years. The violator will also fine an amount of Php750, 000 and will be suspended in practicing her profession and will have his/her license revoked.

Here is the full text of the law:

REPUBLIC ACT NO. 10609

AN ACT PROTECTING THE RIGHT OF STUDENTS ENROLLED IN COURSES REQUIRING PROFESSIONAL LICENSING EXAMINATIONS TO ENROLL IN REVIEW CENTERS OF THEIR CHOICE AND PROVIDING PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS THEREOF

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

Section 1. Short Title. – This Act shall be known as the "Protection of Students’ Right to Enroll in Review Centers Act of 2013".

Section 2. Declaration of Policy. – It is the declared policy of the State to promote and protect the right to education as enshrined in the Philippine Constitution. While the State recognizes the complementary roles of public and private institutions in the enhancement and strengthening of the educational system, it is also the responsibility of the State to ensure the protection of students against possible abuses by Higher Educational Institutions (HEIs) in relation to the right of students to choose their review centers.

Section 3. Coverage. – This Act shall cover all public and private HEIs, including local colleges and universities, offering courses that require professional licensure examinations.

Section 4. Unlawful Acts. – In recognition of the student’s freedom to choose his/her review center, the following acts by HEIs shall be considered unlawful:

(1) Compelling students enrolled in courses requiring professional examinations to take review classes, which are not part of the curriculum, in a review center of the HEI’s choice;

(2) Making such review classes a prerequisite for graduation or completion of the course;

(3) Forcing students to enroll in a review center of the school’s choice, and to pay the corresponding fees that include transportation and board and lodging; and

(4) Withholding the transcript of scholastic records, diploma, certification or any essential document of the student to be used in support of the application for the professional licensure examinations so as to compel the students to attend in a review center of the HEI’s choice.

Section 5. Penalties. – Any HEI official or employee, including deans, coordinators, advisers, professors and other concerned individuals found guilty of violating any of the unlawful acts enumerated in Section 4 of this Act shall suffer the penalty prision correccional or imprisonment from six (6) months and one (1) day to six (6) years and a fine of Seven hundred fifty thousand pesos (P750,000.00). He/She shall also be suspended from his/her office and his/her professional license revoked.

In addition, the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) may impose disciplinary sanctions against an HEI official or employee violating this Act pursuant to Section 13 of Republic Act No. 7722, otherwise known as the "Higher Education Modernization Act of 1994".

Section 6. Implementing Rules and Regulations. – The CHED shall be tasked to issue the implementing rules and regulations of this Act within thirty (30) days after this law takes effect.1âwphi1

Section 7. Separability Clause. – Should any provision herein be declared unconstitutional, the same shall not affect the validity of the other provisions of this Act.

Section 8. Repealing Clause. – All laws, presidential decrees or issuances, executive orders, letters of instruction, administrative orders, administrative memoranda, rules and regulations inconsistent with the provisions of this Act are hereby amended, modified or repealed accordingly.

Section 9. Effectivity Clause. – This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication the Official Gazette or in two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,


(Sgd.) JINGGOY EJERCITO ESTRADA
Acting Senate President (Sgd.) FELICIANO BELMONTE JR.
Speaker of the House of Representatives
This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on December 8, 2010 and June 5, 2013, respectively.


(Sgd.) EMMA LIRIO-REYES
Secretary of the Senate

(Sgd.) MARILYN B. BARUA-YAP
Speaker General
House of Representatives

Approved: AUG 23 2013

(Sgd.) BENIGNO S. AQUINO III
President of the Philippines

Prayer for Architects

Prayer for Architects 
(and for those who passed the Board Exams for Architects)

My Father God,
thank you for my talents and vocation
to be an Architect (Planner),
your co-creator of homes, buildings,
cities, and the world.

Out of infinite Love for us,
you created an unfinished world
so that we may continue creating it
and in this way
continue creating ourselves
to be the perfect, fulfilled, and happy
human beings you meant us to be.

We know only love
gives value to our project
and not its size
so give us plenty of it.

We know that creativity and smart work
are what we need
to build our masterpieces of form
and function so give us plenty of these.

We know we need people
who share our passion
to build a world that is beautiful
and sustainable for rich and poor alike

so give us loads of them
-- people who will appreciate
our creations and compensate us fairly.

With all these gifts,
in good and bad times,
we shall continue being the Architect
and honored us to be.

All these, we are ready to receive
through the merits of the passion
of our Lord Jesus Christ
and through your humble channel,
our Blessed Mother.

Amen.

Prayer for Board Exams and Review

Prayer for Preparation to Study

Grant me peace, O God, as I open my books and notes. Open my mind to Thy will, and may I dedicate these hours to Thy Son, Jesus Christ.

Offer me insight, O Lord, that I might understand these things, and see them as a part of Thy Kingdom.

May I offer Thee my best in reading and learning that it may be a part of my discipleship.

O Jesus Christ, may this be a worthy time that is faithful to Thee and bring me closer to the goals I have in order to serve Thee. I offer this time and prayer in Thy holy Name. Amen.



Prayer Before an Exam


O wise God, I pray that my mind might be rested, my body energized, and my spirit inspired for the exam I must write.

Grant me peace and assurance so that I might do the best I am able, regardless of what that might be.

Be with my fellow students and may I be a good example to them, offering reassurance and confidence regardless of how I feel.

May I be honest and insightful, and able to give a true record of what I have learned. In the end, may any disappointment be born with grace, and any joy accompanied with humility.

I write this exam with Thee, O Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.



Prayer For Peace of Mind


In this time of anxiety, O loving God, grant me peace of mind. Quiet any distress and allow me to see clearly my mission and discipleship.

I pray for my examiners as well as for myself, so that they might be wise in their questioning so that it will allow for a true accounting of my learning and understanding.

May the memory of my family and friends remind me of their support, regardless of outcome, united with them in the spirit of love.

May I be wise enough to gain enough rest so all might be ready, my thoughts organized, and my life dedicated to serve Thee whatever the cost, through the love of Jesus Christ, my Saviour. Amen.






Prayer in a Time of Anxiety


When I am truly anxious, O God, remind me of my love of Thy Son, Jesus Christ. May I realize that I will not be abandoned, but am accompanied always by Him.

Dispel any sense of self-concern, and remind me that others are feeling the same tensions, which is only natural in times of stress.

Grant me insight, God of Wisdom, to see the things that have been taught, to understand them in the unfolding story of Thy Creation, and our place within it.

May I lay my head down to rest confident that Thou art always with us, through the love and affection of Thy Son, Jesus Christ, my Redeemer and Lord. Amen.




Prayer Before Retiring at Night


God of strength and of comfort, I close the day with thoughts of Thee.

As I turn myself over to the sleep of the present night, grant that Thy benediction may be upon me, and all whom I love. We depend upon Thy care, and pray that we may awake reassured of Thy presence.

No matter how late it might be, nor how early I might have to arise, may this time of sleep help to restore my calmness and perceptiveness, so that when I open my eyes next, I shall be ready to continue my study and service of Thee.

In the last moments of consciousness, I resign my life and purpose to Thee, and to Thy Son, Jesus Christ, in whose Name I pray. Amen.


Prayer When I Awake


May my first thoughts be of Thee, O Light of Life, and may I dedicate all that I do these coming hours to Thy glory.

If my task be to study, may I do it without hesitation. If I face an examination, may I meet it with determination and goodwill.

As I cast off the hour(s) of sleep, and prepare for my responsibilities for the day, may I always remember that Thou art with me in the person of Thy Son, Jesus Christ.

As I awaken, quicken my mind, enlarge my heart, and grant me wisdom to do my best in all I do this day.

May I be a true steward of the time I have this day, and dedicate all that I do to the love and care of my Lord and Redeemer, Jesus Christ. Amen.





The Lord's Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive them that trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For Thine is the Kingdom, the power and the glory, for ever and ever. Amen.



Exam Prayer


As Exam Day Approaches

O God of Wisdom, I thank you for the knowledge gained and the learning experiences of this year. I come to you on this day and ask you to enlighten my mind and heart. Let your Holy Spirit be with me as I prepare for exams, guiding my studies, and giving me insight so that I can perform to be best of my ability. Please grant me the strength to handle the pressure of these final days of the term, the confidence to feel secure in my knowledge, and the ability to keep an appropriate perspective through it all. Help me to keep in mind what is truly important, even as I focus my time and energy on these exams in the immediate future. Finally, may I sense your peace in knowing that I applied myself to the challenges of this day. I ask this through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen





Prayers for Students During Exams



First Day of Exams


"The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and they who live by it grow in understanding. Praise will be His for ever." Psalm 111: 10 (REB)

O wise God, I pray that my mind might be rested, my body energized, and my spirit inspired for the exam I must write.

Grant me peace and assurance so that I might do the best I am able, regardless of what that might be.

Be with my fellow students that I might be a good example to them of faithfulness, offering reassurance and confidence regardless of how I feel.

May I be honest and insightful, able to give a true record of what I have learned this past term. In the end, may any disappointment be born with grace and any joy accompanied with humility.

I write this examination with Thee, O God. Amen.



Second Day of Exams

"Wisdom has built her house; she has hewn her seven pillars. … The first step to wisdom is the fear of the Lord, and knowledge of the Most Holy One is understanding." Proverbs 9: 1,10 (REB)

Whether I have an exam or not, incline my ear to Thy word, and open my eyes to Thy presence. It is so easy to forget that Thou art with us.

Direct my energy to the accomplishment of Thy will for me, allowing my spirit to detect the direction in which I might best be Thy disciple.

Today I find myself immersed in words, sentences, symbols and equations – whatever language which my subject uses. May they speak clearly and with distinction.

May my desk be an altar where I may lay down my life through my efforts, and dedicate it all to Thee by quickening my knowledge for Thy will to be done. Amen.



Third Day of Exams

"When I look up at your heavens, the work of your fingers, at the moon and the stars you have set in place, what is a frail mortal, that you should be mindful of him, a human being, that you should take notice of him?" Psalm 8: 3,4 (REB)

Wondrous God, we look at Creation when we study, and see so much. We see the works of Thy fingers in the majesty of science and the arts, telling us that these are the implements by which we build Thy Kingdom.

We are in awe of the infinity of Thy universe, and seek to know as much as we are able. May the combination of all our minds open to us an understanding of the meaning of it all.Armed with this vision, may we explore the knowledge we have and use it wisely. In our examinations, may we display our knowledge with reverence and duty,

"Lord our Sovereign, how glorious is your Name throughout the world!" (Psalm 8: 9 (REB)) Amen.


O loving and merciful God, My whole existence depends on you, I ask you to send your Holy Spirit into my heart and mind. Fill me with your grace, beyond my own personal strength, So that I can dedicate the time and energy I need, to study. Give me the strength to resist the distractions from studying. When I am studying by myself, help me to remember that You are my companion, and that I am never alone. Help my teachers to explain things clearly. Help me to respect them. Help me to pay attention and to listen well in class. Give me the courage to ask questions when I don't understand. Give me the humility to ask for help when I need it. Help me to accept my results After I have done all I can do. Give me a spirit of gratitude For the privilege of learning at this school, While many people in the world do not get such a good opportunity. Help me to make the most of the wonderful gifts you have given me, And to return them to you with generosity. You have been with me through rough times in the past. Help me to trust that you are here with me now. Give me hope for the future, And help me to trust that, whatever the future brings, You are already there waiting for me With your loving embrace. I Offer you this prayer through your Son, My Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, Who lives and reigns with you, forever and ever. Amen



Prayer to St. Joseph of Cupertino for success in Examinations.

This powerful prayer is very effective in examinations. It has to be said before appearing in the examination. There are two variants to this prayer. Both the prayers are equally effective. You can choose any one of these:-

First Prayer

O Great St. Joseph of Cupertino who while on earth did obtain from God the grace to be asked at your examination only the questions you knew, obtain for me a like favour in the examinations for which I am now preparing. In return I promise to make you known and cause you to be invoked.

Through Christ our Lord.

St. Joseph of Cupertino, Pray for us.

Amen.

Second Prayer

O St. Joseph of Cupertino who by your prayer obtained from God to be asked at your examination, the only preposition you knew. Grant that I may like you succeed in the (here mention the name of Examination eg. History paper I ) examination.

In return I promise to make you known and cause you to be invoked.

O St. Joseph of Cupertino pray for me

O Holy Ghost enlighten me

Our Lady of Good Studies pray for me

Sacred Head of Jesus, Seat of divine wisdom, enlighten me.

Remember, when you succeed in the exams, then you should thank St. Joseph of Cupertino in the Newspaper or HERE.





The Difference

I got up early one morning and rushed right into the day;
I had so much to accomplish, I didn't have time to pray.

Problems just tumbled about me and grew heavier with each task;
Why doesn't God help me, I wondered; He answered, "You didn't ask."

I wanted to see joy and beauty, but the day toiled on, gray and bleak;
I wondered why God didn't show me - He said, "But you didn't seek."

I tried to come into God's presence; I used all my keys at the lock;
God gently and lovingly chided, "My child, you didn't knock."

I woke up early this morning and paused before entering the day;
I had so much to accomplish that I had to take time to pray.

















Sample Design Problem 1

SUBJECT: ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN AND SITE PLANNING
DATE/ TIME: 27 November 2009 and 03 December 2009, 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
VENUES (4) : Al-Khobar & Jeddah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA); Doha (Qatar); Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (UAE)
WARNING: If there are conflicts between a stated word and the number/ amount/ figure described, the stated / spelled word shall prevail. Should there be conflicts between two (2.0) stated quantities, the higher figure shall prevail.

IMPORTANT NOTE: For this reformat of the examination in this subject, the Examinee shall be allowed to make full use (open books) ONLY of Rule VII and Rule VIII of the 2004 Revised Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of Presidential Decree (P.D.) No. 1096, otherwise known as the 1977 National Building Code of the Philippines (NBCP) i.e. ONLY as downloaded and reproduced from the PRBoA website at www.architectureboard.ph. The use of other IRR versions are specifically disallowed during this examination.



A. PROJECT NO. 1,2,3,4 & 5 TITLE (and General Description):

A Proposed _______-Rise _______________ Project [development with Basement, Podium (with covered parking) and Tower components] on a Project Site with a ________ Percent (0.0%) Slope

B. STATEMENT OF THE PROBLEM:
A _________ has decided that its _________ (X-X, e.g. R-3, C-2, I-1)-zoned property (the “Project Site), with a Total Lot Area (TLA) of ______________square meters (0.0 SqM) and located in _____________, shall host a __________-rise __________________ Building (the “Project”).

C. PROJECT SITE FEATURES:
The Project Site is a _______ lot, with a _____ meter (0.0 m) wide frontage facing _______. The Project Site uniformly slopes at 0.0% towards the _______ (0.0) m wide street i.e. the road right-of-way (RROW) that is also relatively flat (at a slope of 0.0%) and which has ________ (0.0) m wide sidewalks at both sides. The surface of the sidewalk at the center of the Project Site frontage is considered as elevation 0.0 m.
The 0.0 m wide RROW was recently declared an arcaded street by city ordinance. The proposed building is also fully covered by a separate Green Building ordinance. To the _____ of the Project Site (as viewed from the RROW) are ____________ complexes. Across the Project Site is a long row of _____-rise ___________ buildings.

D. DESIGN OBJECTIVES:
a. To plan/ design a _______________ building with features such as _____________________;
b. To plan/ design the Project in a way that can maximize profits for the Project Proponent; the ratio of saleable versus non-saleable spaces based on GFA shall be at 0:0; and
c. To plan/ design the Project to serve as a landmark in the host area.

Sample FLEA Design Questions from Al-Khobar & Jeddah, KSA (administered 27 November 2009)

Project No. 2: A Proposed Medium-Rise Apartment Building
B. Test for Knowledge of Site Planning
(JAK, SEQUENTIAL QUESTIONS)
Note: Only the choices to the question are shown. The reader must do
research to arrive at the correct (or best) answers.
Project No. 2. Under the 2004 Revised Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of P.D. No. 1096 or the 1977 National Building Code of the Philippines (NBCP), what is the minimum unpaved surface area (USA) for the Project Site (zoned as Maximum R-3)? The answer is a percentage (%) of the Total Lot Area (TLA).
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee must make use of table/s from the 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP (open books).
a. 30
b. 20
c. 10
d. 70
Project 2. For the Project Site (zoned as Maximum R-3 under the NBCP), how much is the minimum USA (in square meters)?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee must make use of table/s from the 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP (open books).
a. 400
b. 700
c. 500
d. 600
Project 2. What is the maximum allowable impervious surface area (ISA) for the Project Site (zoned as Maximum R-3 under the NBCP), if the building shall NOT have a firewall? The answer is a percentage (%) of the Total Lot Area (TLA).
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee must make use of table/s from the 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP (open books) and use a simple calculator.
a. 10
b. 20
c. 70
d. 30
Project 2. For the Project Site (zoned as Maximum R-3 under the NBCP), how much is the maximum allowable ISA (in square meters)?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee must determine the total lot area (TLA) from the information given in the Project description, then make use of table/s from the 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP (open books) and finally use a simple calculator.
a. 1,800
b. 2,400
c. 1,200
d. 3,000
Project 2. For the Project Site (zoned as Maximum R-3 under the NBCP), how much is the combined total for the maximum allowable ISA plus the minimum USA (in square meters)?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee must determine the total lot area (TLA) from the information given in the Project description, then make use of table/s from the 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP (open books) and finally use a simple calculator.
a. 2,400
b. 2,700
c. 1,800
d. 2,100

III.Sample FLEA Design Questions from
Doha, Qatar & Abu Dhabi, UAE
(administered 03 December 2009)

Note: Only the choices to the question are shown. The reader must do
research to arrive at the correct (or best) answers.

Project No. 1:
A Proposed Open Market Residential Housing Prototype

A. Test for Knowledge of General Compliances Relative to Site Planning and to the Planning and Design of Buildings_(DAD, RANDOM)
Project 1. Under the 1977 National Building Code of the Philippines (NBCP), what is covered by the Building Height Limit (BHL) for the Project?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee must extract the necessary information from the 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP (open books).
a. antenna
b. electrical or electronic devices mounted on top of the parapet wall, if introduced
c. deck roof level parapet wall, if introduced
d. mast

Project No. 2:
A Proposed Medium-Rise Apartment Building

C. Test for Knowledge of Space Planning_(DAD, RANDOM)
Project 2. Using the maximum Total Gross Floor Area (TGFA) and the Building Height Limit (BHL) that are allowed for the Project under the NBCP, what shall be the resultant TGFA per floor (in square meters)?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee must determine the total lot area (TLA) from the information given in the Project description, then make use of table/s from the 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP (open books) and finally use a simple calculator.
a. 2,666
b. 4,222
c. 5,444
d. 3,888

Project No. 3:
A Proposed Medium-Rise Office Condominium

D. Test for Knowledge of Architectural Design of Buildings (General & Specific) _(DAD, RANDOM)
Project 3. In terms of material production, which of the following flooring materials is considered to have the lowest carbon footprint?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee (assumed to have worked for at least 2 years/ 3,840 hours) must read available information on the subject, do some independent research or make the necessary inquiries. The 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP is not needed to answer this question.
a. baked clay tiles
b. hand-cut natural stone
c. ceramic tiles
d. high-pressure laminate flooring

Project No. 4:
A Proposed Low-Rise National Government Office Building
E. Test for Knowledge of Structural Conceptualization_(DAD, RANDOM)
Project 4. Assuming a heavily forested location for the Project Site, what type of roof structure should be introduced?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee (assumed to have worked for at least 2 years/ 3,840 hours) must read available information on the subject, do some independent research or make the necessary inquiries. The 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP is not needed to answer this question.
a. steel deck roof
b. steep gable roof
c. RC deck roof
d. low-slope metal roofing on space frame

Project No. 5:
Proposed Medium-Rise Garment and Undergarment Factory Building
F. Test for Knowledge of Architectural Interiors (AI)_(DAD, RANDOM)
Project No. 5. Which of the following is a good lighting device for a general production area with the ceiling consisting of the soffit of a suspended slab?
Note: To arrive at the answer, the examinee (assumed to have worked for at least 2 years/ 3,840 hours) must read available information on the subject, do some independent research or make the necessary inquiries. The 2004 Revised IRR of P.D. No. 1096/ NBCP is not needed to answer this question.
a. pendant lighting (suspended incandescent lamps)
b. industrial lighting (suspended fluorescent lamps with reflectors)
c. pendant lighting (suspended CFLs with housing)
d. troffer lighting (fluorescent lamps with soffit-mounted lightboxes and diffusers)

Determining AMBF & PSO (R-1 & R-2)

The following rules shall be observed in the determination of the Allowable Maximum Building Footprint (AMBF) for buildings and related habitable structures. If the stated rules are compared with

a) Rule VIII Table VIII.1.- Reference Table on Percentage of Site Occupancy and Maximum Allowable Construction Area (MACA);

b) Rule VIII Tables VIII.2. and VIII.3. (setbacks, yards and courts); or

c) with the applicable stipulations under this Rule and with the applicable stipulations of the Fire Code,

the more stringent but applicable regulation out of the aforementioned rules should be observed.



To know more about Development Controls, PSO, AMBF, ISA, USA, TOSL, MACA, GFA, TGFA, AMVB, BHL, etc., enroll in Review Course for Rule 7&8. Text to 09175874827 or email to orbis.ccd@gmail.com.

Determining Allowable Maximum Volume of Building (AMVB)

ALLOWABLE MAXIMUM VOLUME OF BUILDING (AMVB) Above-Grade – The limit of the total volume of space that can be occupied by a proposed building/structure above grade level. the AMVB is an imaginary prism within the fully enclosed areas and courts of a proposed building/structure shall fit.

Quantifying the AMVB. The AMVB shall be primarily determined by the following:

a. Multiply the AMBF (in square meters) for the lot by the applicable BHL (in meters) for the lot to arrive at the initial AMVB (in cubic meters); the result of this step is the imaginary footprint prism;

b. Superimpose the angular plane originating from the center of the RROW on the footprint prism; this shall result in the reduction of the initially computed building volume due to the application of incremental setbacks and of roof configuration dictated by the angular plane; the result of this step is the AMVB;

c. To crosscheck the AMVB against the Allowable Maximum TGFA (separately determined), convert the AMVB into its approximate area equivalent (in sq. meters) by dividing it with the BHL. Before converting the AMVB to its area component, check for the effects of the incremental setbacks on the TGFA for each floor of the proposed building/structure.



To know more about AMVB and enroll in Rule 7&8 courses, text to 0917-5874827.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Philippine Church Architecture

PHILIPPINE CHURCH ARCHITECTURE

* simple, patterned after early Christian types; either rectangular or cruciform with simple naves and aisles
* thick walls reinforced with heavy buttresses for earthquakes protection
* immense sizes because of colonial policy which dictated that a church should be built for every 5000 baptized
* materials used include: volcanic tuff (adobe), hardened lava, volcanic ejecta, sandstone, river boulders, clay, corals, limestone, oyster shells, eggs

SIGNIFICANT EXAMPLES

PAOAY CHURCH, Ilocos Norte
* built in 1694 by Antonio Estavillo, completed 1702-1710
* façade: rectangular, with arched doorway, four continuous pilasters alternating with niches
* finials and crenellations at pediment niche at the apex
* huge volutes with low relief lines tracing the contour to disguise the large buttresses
photo credit: http://3.bp.blogspot.com


VIGAN CHURCH, Ilocos Sur
* finished in 1800
* located within the grid iron planned streets of a colonial town
* baroque elements include protruding columns and solid frames; three arched doorways leading to three naves at the first level, guarded by ionic pillars with chinese fu dogs
* urn-like finial at pediment




SANTA MARIA CHURCH, Ilocos Sur
* constructed late 18th century, 85 steps leading to the church was built by Augustinian Benigno Fernandez
* massive brick church perched on a hill
* façade has circular buttresses, three openings and a blind niche, semi-circular pediment



TUMAUINI CHURCH, Isabela
* begun 1783-1788 by Dominican Domingo Forto and town mayor Pablo Sason; 1803-1808 – circular belltower was completed
* pampango artisans carved the hardwood molds for the clay insets that decorate the church
* ultra-baroque : unique for its extensive use of baked clay both for wall finishes and ornamentation
ornamental details : serpentine reliefs, spiral curves, flowers, foliage, sunfaces, cherubs and saints
* circular belltower with white limestone finish, decorated with bright red clay rosettes and festoons


ANGAT CHURCH, Bulacan
* begun 1756-1773 by Augustinian Gregorio Giner; completed in 1802 by Fray Joaquin Calvo
* baroque style  : coupled Corinthian and Doric columns divide façade into levels or segments, statues ringed with wreath-like ornaments flank niches, windows with bas-relief “curtains”
* plain three-storey belltower with balustered top
* the Parish Church of Sta. Monica in Angat, Bulacan is situated in the hilly and mountainous southern portion of the province.




BARASOAIN CHURCH, Bulacan
* 1871-1878 : stone church was constructed to replace wooden structure; 1880 – earthquake ruined the church
* 1885 : Augustinian Juan Giron commissioned a builder named Magpayo to rebuild the church
* variation on the circle motif
* flutings on pilasters with ends blunted into semicircles detract from the NeoClassical
* belltower has a cubic base, three layes accented by blind and open windows, top has crenellations and six-sided cone



SAN SEBASTIAN CHURCH, Manila
* a church built for all times after previous churches were damaged by earthquakes in 1863 and 1880
* designed in the Gothic style (without flying buttresses) by Genaro Palacios in Revivalist architecture
* made entirely of steel; plans were sent to Belgium where the parts were made in sections then transported to Manila
* interiors were painted to resemble faux marble; adorned with sculpture by Eusebio Garcia and painting by Lorenzo Rocha



SAN AUGUSTIN CHURCH, Manila
* oldest church in the Philippines; built 1587-1607 by Juan Macias according to the plans approved by the Royal Audencia de Mexico and by a Royal Cedula
* 1854 : Don Luciano Oliver (Municipal Architect of Manila) directed the renovation of the façade by adding to the height of the towers; these towers were damaged in the 1863 earthquake and were never rebuilt
* plaza adorned with Fu dogs represents colonial urban planning
* High Renaissance : superpositioned Tuscan orders at first level, Corinthian capitals at second level; circular windows at plain pediment; heavily carved, two-paneled main door with images of St. Augustine and St. Monica amidst Philippine flora
* nave is flanked by 12 collateral chapels each housing a Baroque or NeoClassic retablo
* Baroque elements include trompe l’oeil : sculpture by Italian artists Cesare Dibella and Giovanni Alberoni on the ceiling and pilasters
* cloisters built around an atrium with a garden planted by Augustinian botaninst Manuel Blanco



TAAL CHURCH, Batangas
* 1858 : Fray Marcos Anton, with the help of the architect Don Luciano Oliver, started construction; the church was completed in 1878
* built on top of a hill and may be reached through flagstone steps, unobstructed by other buildings
* façade : arched windows alternate with Ionic columns at first level, Corinthian at upper level; projected cornices and mouldings; three pediments
* interior is cavernous bur drab with stout piers and semi-circular apse : mathematical exactness rather than ornamentation



DARAGA CHURCH, Albay
* established by people who fled the eruption of Mt. Mayon form Cagsawa
* the Franciscan wanted a church with the best features of Romanesque and Gothic, but it was executed by the carvers in Baroque
* façade : a whole tablet without columns and cornices, only symmetrically positioned fenestrations, apertures and niches; whorls, twisted columns, foliage, medallions, statues and reliefs


MIAGAO CHURCH, Iloilo
* present church was built 1786-1797 under the supervision of fray Francisco Gonzales Maximo; a storey was added to the left belfry in 1830
* also served as fortress against Muslim pirates, simple and massive structure mixed with ornate details
* local botanical motifs at façade reliefs reminiscent of cookie cutouts (de gajeta), used to describe 16th century Mexican architectural reliefs



SANTO NINO DE CEBU BASILICA, Cebu
* built by Fray Juan de Albarran about 400 years ago, on the site where a soldier found an image of the Sto. Nino in a settlement that the Spanish soldiers have burned down
* the Convent was founded in 1565, making it the first to be built in the country
* constructed with stones from Panay and Capiz
* façade : blending of Moorish, Romanesque and NeoClassical elements; trefoils on the doorways; two levels divided into three segments and topped by pediment; retablo at the center
* belltower has four-sided balustraded dome
* interior : pierced screen with floral motifs, pineapple decors at the choirloft, corn cobs at the capital



Review Notes: Planning Terms

ARCHITECTURAL PLANNING

Greenbelt   
A wide area of parks of undeveloped land surrounding a community

Platting      
The process in which a piece of land, referred to as a parent tract is subdivided into two or more parcels

Azimuths   
Angles measured clockwise form any direction (meridian) usually north, however national geodetic survey uses south

Final Plat   
Usually the last stage of the final site development process prior to the issuance of the building permit

Urban sprawl      
A 20th century problem emanating from rapid urbanization of areas surrounding a city

Advocacy Planning        
A type of planning which emphasizes that the proper role of the planner is not to serve the general public interest but to serve the interest of the least fortunate

Sustainable land use Planning 
It is the type of land use planning that emphasizes management of land resources

R.A 7160    
This code mandates that all LG4’s shall prepare their comprehensive land use plans & enact them through zoning ordinances

Promote human growth
Reason for planning
Sustainable development         
Phrase used to characterize development that mends the needs of the present generation

Hippodamus of Miletus 
First planner & developed the Gridiron

City  
A locale with a sizeable agglomeration of people having characteristics of an urban being

Agricultural surplus      
The main reason why the nomadic existence of early man metamorphosed to village settlement & later to cities

Insula         
The rough equivalent of the present tenement cities that existed in ancient Rome

True bounded city         
In urban geography, a concept where urban settlement is confined to the area within the legal limits of the city & the congestion & virtually all of this area occupied by residents

City planning       
A land development decision is also what kid of decision the orderly arrangement of urban streets & public places

Daniel Burnham  
He conceptualized the city beautiful movement

Subdivision Regulations
A tool used to control the manner in which raw kind is subdivided & placed on the marker for residential development

Urban Design      
A profession which falls between planning & architecture

Human settlement
The science of human settlements by definition settlement inhabited by man

Capital facilities Plan
Planning for roads, bridges, schools

Physical Settlement       
The container of man, which consist of both the natural & man made or artificial

Concentric zone theory 
A spatial organization concept a general view of the pattern of land use in a city. Developed by E.W Burgess

Buildable area     
The remaining space in a lot after deducting the required minimum open spaces

Dwelling unit       
A habitable room for 1 family with facilities for living, sleeping, cooking & eating

Gabion wall
A type of retaining wall made of rectangular baskets of galvanized steel

Cliff  
A very steep slope of rock or clay

Meadow     
A pieced of grassy land, especially one used for growing hay or as pasture for grazing

Ridge
A long, narrow chain of hills or mountains

Ravine       
A long, deep, narrow valley eroded by running water

Restriction 
On land, and enclimbrance limiting its use for community or mutual protection

Parcel        
On land, a contiguous land area which is considered as a unit, which is subject to a single ownership & which is legally recorded as a single piece

Common wall      
A wall that serves two dwelling units, known also as a party wall

Brasilia      
Niemeyer believed that relating large areas to each other is freedom as in the planned city of …

Density       
In architectural terms, it is the relationship of the number of residential structures & people

National Shelter Program       
The government arm responsible for the development & implementation of low cost housing in Phil.

Social Housing     
Housing provided for low income groups generally through government intervention & characterized by substantial & direct assistance

Earnest Money    
Sometimes called “this is a deposit given to the seller to show that the potential buyer has serious intentions

Amortization       
A provision made in advance for the gradual liquidation of a future obligation by periodic changes against the capital account

Deed 
Written document to transfer the property from one person to another

Developers 
They develop or improve the land as well as construct houses

Appraiser   
Determine the value of the houses & also is familiar with trends in the local market & the industry

Real Estate Broker        
Helps people find a place to live, specializing & matching wants of buyers with the local supply

Total system        
Are usually large concrete slabs or otherwise panelized units fabricated in a shop & assembled on site

Housing code       
Codes that deal with the use, occupancy & maintenance of existing building

Zoning       
Designed to regulate land use, to ban industry & commerce from residential areas & to separate different types of living units

Prefabricated Manufacturer   
Construct three dimensional volumetric units in a plant on a production & then hauled to the site

Subsystems
System building is a complete integration of all

Urban Renewal    
The improvement of slum, deteriorated under utilized areas of the city

Code of Municipality tradition
An area which is within city limits, or closely linked to it by common use of public utilities & services two major hindrances to the prefabrication industry

Primative
Vernacular
Grand        
Three general type of structures

Productive use     
A piece of land with an economic use for farming

Health & general use     
Lands for well-being like a parks, plazas

Social implication
As the cost of land, neighborhood have this effect

8.00 m        
Minimum road width in a neighborhood to ease traffic flow

Bedroom    
Which building component receives priority location to have morning sun

Growth & change
Urban planning is briefly described as the guidance of

Gazebo       
A lattice structure that serves as a summer house

Grass & Plants    
In landscaping, ground cover is represented as

Site Planning       
The art of arranging building & other structures in harmony with the landscape

Ecology      
The study of the dynamic relationship between a community of organism & its habitat

Accurate aerial    
Preparations of an accurate base map for urban

Mosaic       
Planning starts with

Comprehensive    
Appraisal for adequacy of a city’s water & sewer systems

Plan  
Needs of future land uses are embodied in the

Transportation    
Also called the blood stream of a city

System       
A form of absence of all the principles & organized

Urban blight        
Development of a community

Slot   
The city of Washington conforms to the plan type of

Freeways    
An efficient & rapid transport system for automobiles to circulate across urban to urban areas

Landmark  
A monument, fixed object, or marker used to designate the location of a land boundary on the ground

Lane 
A narrow passageway bordered by trees, fences or other lateral barrier

Land-Use Plan     
The projection of a future pattern of use within an area, as determined by development

Land
The part of the surface of the earth not permanent covered by water

Land boundary    
A lie of demarcation bet. Adjoining parcels of land

Land survey        
A survey of landed property establishing or re-establishing lengths & directions of the boundary line

Land use survey  
The study & recording of the way in which land is being used in an area

Latitude     
In surveying, the north south component of a traverse course

Lawn
An open space of ground of some size, covered with grass & kept smoothly mown

Lease
A contract transferring the right of possession of building, properties etc. to a fixed period of time, usually for periodically compensated “rent”

Leasehold   
A tenure by lease, real estate held under a lease



Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Influential Architects - Le Corbusier

Charles-Édouard Jeanneret-Gris, better known as Le Corbusier, was a Swiss-French architect, designer, painter, urban planner, writer, and one of the pioneers of what is now called modern architecture.

Le Corbusier’s collected articles proposed a new architecture that would satisfy the demands of industry, hence functionalism, and the abiding concerns of architectural form, as defined over generations. His proposals included his first city plan, the Contemporary City, and two housing types that were the basis for much of his architecture throughout his life: the Maison Monol and, more famously, the Maison Citrohan, which he also referred to as “the machine of living.”



Planning and Design Guidelines for Hotels

Here is a presentation on the planning and design guidelines for hotel facilities. This is a copy of the new set of National Accommodation Standards for hotels. This may be a useful information to those doing their architectural thesis or those doing research on this type of facility.

The new set of standards has a five-year grading system that prescribes minimum and progressive levels of facility and service quality following international standards.

There are five levels of accommodation standards ranging from one to five stars applicable to hotels, resorts and apartment levels. To obtain higher stars, progressively higher and facility quality, facility condition and improved business practices like environmental management, which are determined by a points system should be provided across all areas.

DOT Memorandum Circular No. 2012-02

Rules and Regulations to Govern the Accreditation of Accommodation Establishments – Hotels, Resorts and Apartment Hotels.




































For more sample problems, take the Design Quiz Pack together with other quizzes below:

Basic Quizzes Pack: P1,250.00
Design Quiz Pack: P1,000.00
Full Quizzes Pack: P2,000.00 (with Basic and Design Quizzes)
Full Handy Quizzes Pack: P2,250.00 (with Basic and Design Quizzes + SWF files for 50-item quizzes for cellphone/tablet use)

email: raegab@yahoo.com for details


 
Design by Free WordPress Themes | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Affiliate Network Reviews